Joyce Yang

Saturday 21st July 20:00

Prelude in G sharp minor, Op.32 No.12
Prelude in D Major, Op.23 No.24
Prelude in C sharp minor, Op.3 No.2
LEOŠ JANÁCEK – Piano Sonata 1.X.1905
FRANZ LISZT – Spanish Rhapsody
ELIZABETH YOUNAN – New Work (2018)
FRANZ LISZT – Sonata in B minor

Her attention to detail and clarity is as impressive as her agility, balance and velocity.
Washington Post



In 2005 Joyce Yang won the silver medal at the 12th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, the youngest contestant at 19 years old. She made her celebrated New York Philharmonic debut with Lorin Maazel at Avery Fisher Hall in 2006 and performed on the orchestra’s tour of Asia, making a triumphant return to her hometown of Seoul, South Korea. She has since gone on to an acclaimed international career.

Yang presents a program brimming with romance and passion. Beginning with a selection of Rachmaninov’s beautifully wrought Preludes, we progress to the turmoil of Leoš Janácek’s politically inspired sonata: ‘From the Street’. A new work by young Sydney composer Elizabeth Younan is bookended by two technically challenging works by Liszt’s Spanish Rhapsody and the mighty Sonata in B minor, one of the milestones of the Romantic piano repertory.