An Afternoon with Tanfield & McGrath

Sunday 19th November 2017, 4 pm

MAURICE RAVEL – Sonata for violin and cello
EUGENE YSAYE – Sonata no 4 for solo violin
BENJAMIN BRITTEN – Suite no 2 for solo cello
ZOLTAN KODALY – Duo for violin and cello


Savour the pleasures of Ravel, Kodaly,
Britten and Ysaye, with a complimentary
wine or juice.


At just 21, Rod McGrath joined the London Philharmonic Orchestra, touring Europe, USA and Russia. He joined the Western Australian Symphony Orchestra in 1997, after twenty years as Co- Principal Cellist with the London Symphony Orchestra. Peter Tanfield, who counts Yehudi Menuhin as one of his teachers, has played all over the world with major orchestras and as a soloist and chamber musician. He arrived in Australia in 1998 as leader of the Australian String Quartet. Until 2012, he was Head of Strings at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts. He now lives in Hobart and teaches at the Conservatorium of Music.

Ravel’s sonata, dedicated to Debussy, has been called ‘lean and ruthlessly linear’ but is nevertheless seductively melodic. Ysaye’s, in contrast, is romantic, but likewise places very high technical demands on the performer. Benjamin Britten dedicated his three cello suites to Mstislav Rostropovich. They redefined the cello’s potential and stand as towering achievements in the solo cello literature. Finally, Kodaly’s exciting duo shows his mastery of classical music traditions along with his deep respect for Hungarian folk music. This promises to be a concert of dazzling virtuosity and seductive rhythms. Just the thing for a Sunday afternoon

Tickets will be available for purchase at the venue 30 minutes prior to the performance.